Pressemelding: Sesongstart for Aasbø

Fredric Aasbø er klar for sesongstart i Formula Drift med ny dekor. Les mer i denne pressemeldingen fra hans amerikanske team.

Big changes for Papadakis Racing Toyota this season as the Rockstar Energy Toyota GR Supra returns to Formula Drift with an all-new look for driver Fredric Aasbo, while Ryan Tuerck’s Rain-X Toyota GR Corolla debuts a new engine.

Three-time Formula Drift champion Aasbo’s Rockstar Energy Toyota GR Supra takes on a new design inspired by the beachy colors of Southern California, home to both Rockstar Energy drink and the Papadakis Racing team. Automotive artist Jon Sibal developed the new look, the latest collaboration between Sibal and the team. Sibal has been responsible for some of the most recognizable bodywork styling and iconic livery designs for Papadakis Racing Toyota.


Tuerck’s Rain-X Toyota GR Corolla returns to the series clad in its familiar yellow livery but with big changes under the hood. The Toyota GR Four is now powered by the inline-six powerplant, derived from the Toyota Supra. Stephan Papadakis originally undertook development on the B58 engine to produce a thousand-plus horsepower in 2020, showcasing the process for millions of viewers on the Papadakis Racing YouTube channel. The engine has powered Aasbo to two championship titles in the Rockstar Energy Toyota GR Supra. Both cars will compete this season on Nitto Tires.

“The Toyota inline-six engine is very capable and we know it still has a lot of headroom to produce more power,” said team owner Stephan Papadakis. “There’s always a risk when innovating forward but we’re confident in the direction we’re taking the Rain-X Toyota GR Corolla as the sport continues to demand more and more horsepower.”

Revisions to series rules this season mean neither car will need to make a qualifying run in Long Beach. The top-ranked drivers have been automatically seeded into the Top 32 bracket based on previous achievements and will sit on the sidelines Friday while the bottom of the field battles through tandem qualifying rounds.


Team owner Papadakis is expected to miss the opening round after the birth on Monday of a healthy baby boy, the second child for him and his wife Kie. Shawn Hillier returns as crew chief for the 2024 Rockstar Energy Toyota GR Supra, while Chris Licup will step into the spotter’s booth for Aasbo. The two worked together in 2010 during Aasbo’s rookie-of-the-year season, and again in 2012. Brian Hartsock returns as spotter to Tuerck and crew chief on the Rain-X Toyota GR Corolla.


Formula Drift is set to run a full schedule of eight event weekends across the country. The season opening Streets of Long Beach is one of the most technical courses drivers will see all year as they are challenged to thread the needle between intimidating track walls, sliding sideways at 90-plus miles per hour through the Grand Prix course’s Turns 9, 10 and 11.


This weekend’s event will deliver the series’ typically generous access, with trackside grandstands and an open paddock where drivers are available to take photos and sign autographs with fans. The competition is streamed live across Formula Drift channels, with qualifying scheduled to go live Friday from 2:30 p.m. to 6 p.m. Pacific Time, and a full day of action on Saturday starting live from 9:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. with opening rounds and returning from 2:30 p.m. to 6 p.m. for the main event.


The Papadakis Racing team began drifting in 2004 and is the most winning team in Formula Drift history, earning the 2022, 2021 and 2015 titles with driver Fredric Aasbo, as well as back-to-back championships with driver Tanner Foust in 2007 and 2008. Tuerck joined the Papadakis Racing team in 2020 in a Toyota Corolla Hatchback and has shown strong results, bringing home the third-place championship trophy in 2022 and 2020. Partner Toyota has won the manufacturer’s cup eight times since 2014.


Drifting is a high-skill, high-powered motorsport with an emphasis on car control. In the Formula Drift series, drivers compete in knockout heats on a closed course, sliding sideways in trials judged on speed and style. With origins in Japan, the sport has rapidly grown to one of the most popular youth-oriented motorsports in the world. Here in the United States, Formula Drift officially launched in 2004 and its national schedule of eight events routinely host capacity crowds, while live-streamed multi-platform broadcasts attract millions of online viewers.


2024 Formula Drift Pro Championship Schedule


Round 1: April 12-13

Streets of Long Beach

Long Beach, CA


Round 2: May 9-10

Road Atlanta

Atlanta, GA


Round 3: May 31-June 1

Orlando Speed World

Orlando, FL


Round 4: June 20-22

Englishtown Raceway

Englishtown, NJ


Round 5: July 18-20

World Wide Technology Raceway

Madison, IL


Round 6: August 9-10

Evergreen Speedway

Monroe, WA


Round 7: August 29-31

Utah Motorsport Park

Salt Lake City, UT


Round 8: October 18-19

Irwindale Speedway

Irwindale, CA